auxpa logo

As the Publications Division, we strive to produce and deliver accurate and timely publications of the Navigator and the Navigator Express to the Coast Guard Auxiliary and the public. As a part of our functionality, we focus on providing support to Publications Officers by assisting in training, writing and maintaining publications guides, upholding publication standards, and providing a knowledge base for inquiries. In order to recognize Publication Officers, the National Publications Contest is held annually to showcase exceptional quality and quantity of superior publication skills.

Robert Miller, Division Chief of Publications (DVC-AM)

 Robert Miller, DVC-AM

Robert Miller serves as Division Chief for Publications in the Public Affairs Directorate. Previously he served as the Branch Chief for the 2016 edition of the Navigator. He has twenty- seven years of experience in academic publishing. He was the founding Editor in Chief of the scientific journal Rare Tumors from 2009 to 2016. In 2015, he was chosen as founding Editor in Chief of the scientific journal ASTRO'S Advances in Radiation Oncology, an open access journal published by the American Society for Radiation Oncology. He is the author or co-author of 147 peer-reviewed scientific publications and four textbook chapters.

He received a Doctorate of Medicine from the University of Kentucky in 1993 and completed his medical specialty training at he Mayo Clinic in Radiation Oncology in 1998. He has been employed at the Mayo Clinic since that time in Rochester, Minnesota and in Jacksonville, Florida. He also received an MBA from the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom in 2013.

He joined the Coast Guard Auxiliary and Flotilla 070-14-04 of Jacksonville Beach, Florida in October 2014. He serves there as a Flotilla Staff Officer for Marine Safety and Environmental Protection.

His awards include the Meritorious Team Commendation x3, the Auxiliary VE/ MDV Service Award x2, the Marine Safety Training Ribbon, the Recreational Boating Safety Device Award, and the Sustained Auxiliary Service Award.