MEMBER ZONE
SEARCH NATIONAL SITE
SECURITY LEVELS

Information about our boating safety class

About Boating Safely 

 Our course is titled "About Boating Safely."  It is approved by NASBLA (National Association of Safe Boating Law Administrators) and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard.  It meets the requirements of many states including New York and Connecticut*.

New York State passed a new law in 2014 affecting two classes of boaters:

All individuals born on or after 5/1/96 are now required to successfully complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a motorboat. Individuals less than 10 years of age may not take this course of instruction. 

All individuals, regardless of age, are required to successfully  complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a personal water craft (jet ski, wave runner, etc.) 

New boaters, parents, and those needing a refresher should take this course as well. This approved eight hour class will give you the knowledge you need to obtain a safety certification. Topics include boating law, boating safety equipment, operating your boat, safe boating tips and emergency procedures. Many boat insurance companies will offer discounts to graduates. Students will receive a Safe Boating Certificate upon successfully completing a 50 question multiple choice test. The class is open to students ages 10 and over. Parents are urged to attend with their children.

This class is not required to operate canoes, kayaks, row boats, or sail boats without motors installed.

The cost is $60.00 per person.

* The Connecticut safe boating certificate requires passing an additional 20-question multiple choice test, and obtaining a "conservation number" from the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection prior to the class.  Contact us for more details.

 

If you are thinking about attending, but are not ready to commit by registering for class, you should let us know by sending an email to AuxFlotilla75@gmail.com or by leaving a message at (914) 698-0323.  Payment by cash or check at the start of the class is required.  Payment by credit card through PayPal in advance is optional, but not required to register for the class.  Click here for the credit card option.