Division 2 Change of Watch

2014 Change of Watch

2014 COW Color GuardTukwilla, WA Jan 2 2014 -- The District 13 Color Guard (Tammi King, Michael Sealfon, and Ken Willard all from Flotilla 2-4 with Charlie Burnaw from Flotilla 2-5) kicked off the official start of the 2014 Change of Watch (COW) with the posting of the colors, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Past National Commodore Viggo Bertelsen, Jr. of Flotilla 2-2. Auxiliarist Gary Laverty of F2-1, reminded us of the meaning of the Table of Remembrance, and our shipmates who couldn't be with us.

Guests were welcomed, and a multi-course dinner served. As a special treat, Auxiliarist Matt Kirchner of Flotilla 2-1 created a lively B&W slideshow retrospective of 2013 events throughout the Division. Our Division 2 Spirit, Performance awards, and Auxiliarist of the Year award for 2013 were presented, along with a District Captain's Recognition certificate. See the the Division 2 Awards page for who got what . . . unless of course, someone has told you to wait for your flotilla meeting for a "surprise"!

Speakers in order of appearance on our theme of "Innovation and Change" included:

  • Division Commander Garrison Bromwell
  • Vice Division Commander Jim Ehnborn, on "Where We've Been and Where Are We Going?"
  • Commander Kent Chappelka, USCG Director of Auxiliary (in his last COW with us as he retires this year),
  • District Captain - North Hoyt Hatfield (his first COW as our new D-CAPT-N),
  • Captain Joe Raymond, USCG Deputy Sector Commander, Sector Puget Sound (who will be replacing Captain Ferguson later this year) and
  • District 13 Commodore Dean Wimer.