Local Boating Classes

Wear It Texas Logo




Jan 27 ::  TPWD Boat Texas Course 
April 7 ::  TPWD Boat Texas Course
May 5 :: TPWD Boat Texas Course
May 26 ::  Suddenly in Command Course
June 2 ::  TPWD Boat Texas Course
July 7 ::  Suddenly in Command Course
July 28 ::  TPWD Boat Texas Course
Aug 25 ::   TPWD Boat Texas Course
Sept 22 ::   TPWD Boat Texas Course
  •  Classes start at 7:45am for Boat-TX class & 9:00am for Suddenly in Command.  

 Location: Coast Guard Auxiliary Trailer,  14336 Hwy 105 West, Conroe, TX 77304               (phone: 936-588-3322)

  For registration, to confirm class date, and/or more information, please contact class instructor:

               Alfred Zorzi, FSO-PE:     281-802-7006   or


If you would like to download a copy of the 2018 Boating Classes Flyer, please click HERE


Class Descriptions:

  • Suddenly in Command Course - (4 hr class---$20):

 - This course is especially designed for family members who do not normally drive the boat.  It does not satisfy the Texas mandatory education requirements.   

Course Overview

The captain becomes incapacitated or falls overboard; you purchase a new boat and step aboard for the first time. You are Suddenly In Command.

This 4-hour boating safety primer is designed for those not generally at the helm, and will help you to “be prepared” with the basics in case of an emergency.

You will learn about your vessel, including nomenclature and operating principles including starting the engine. Also included are descriptions of what causes boating mishaps and how to minimize them, basic boat handling and what equipment should be on board.

Literature contains many horror stories about a passenger, who does not know how to start the engine or operate the radio, watching in horror as a strong wind blows the boat away faster than a captain who has fallen overboard can swim.

Misfortune occurs in seconds, and you have the rest of your life to be grateful that you knew what to do because you were prepared.


  • Boat Texas Course - (8 hr class---$25): 

This course is required by the Texas Park & Wildlife Dept. (TPWD) for anyone born on or after September 1, 1993 who wishes to operate most boats on the public waterways of Texas.
(Exceptions to this TPWD rule are Paddle crafts, Vessels with a motor of less than 15 HP, & Sailboats shorter than 14 feet)

This beginner boating class will give you the knowledge needed to obtain a boat license or safety certification in many states. Many boat insurance companies will offer discounts on boating insurance to boaters who successfully complete About Boating Safely.


Introduction to Boating
Boating Laws
Boat Safety Equipment
Safe Boating, Jet Skis
Boating Problems
Trailering, Storing and Protecting Your Boat
Hunting and Fishing from boats, Water-skiing and River Boating

(This is an "in-class” course, no on-the-water training) 


 To find out more about other locations, times, dates, and classes available, please contact:

Alfred Zorzi, FSO-PE:     281-802-7006
Lake Conroe Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla at 936-588-3322



** Always Be a Safe and Courteous Boater **

Wear It Texas Logo