ALAUX 08a-17 - COMO Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award

28APR 2017

2017 COMMODORE CHARLES S. GREANOFF INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNER

1. ALCOAST 146/17 recently announced the 2017 Coast Guard inspirational leadership award winners. Congratulations to Auxiliarist Gene Little of D9 - Eastern Region for earning the Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award, and to Auxiliarist Gary Derby of D5 - Southern Region for earning honorable mention!

R 280810 APR 17
FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC//CG-12//
TO ALCOAST
UNCLAS //N01650//
ALCOAST 146/17
COMDTNOTE 1650
SUBJ: 2017 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

- 1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners:
 - A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty: LT Kimberly Angel, C3CEN
 - B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve: LCDR Robyn Swan, PSU 309
 - C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty: AMTC Robert Holden, Air Station Detroit
 - D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve: MEC Joel Borland, Sector Lake Michigan
 - E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:
 Ms. June Ledwith, Sector Northern New England
 - F. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD: FC Gene Little, Ninth District, Eastern Region
 - G. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD: CDR Andrew Brown, Base Boston
 - H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD: AST1 Roderick Ansley, Air Station Elizabeth City

- 2. I applaud the efforts of these outstanding individuals and all award nominees. Through their collective actions and the actions of those who nominated them, they demonstrate proficiency in leadership and that our people are the foundation for successful Coast Guard service to the nation.
- 3. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category (listed in alphabetical order):

A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:

- (1) LCDR Matthew Dooris, MSU Chicago
- (2) LT Christine Igisomar, Sector Los Angeles/Long Beach
- (3) CWO Melissa Jacobs, Air Station Barbers Point
- (4) LCDR Rhianna Macon, Sector San Francisco

B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:

- (1) LT Michael Carney, PSU 305
- (2) CDR Mark Devereaux, Sector Northern New England
- (3) LCDR Christopher Kerr, Sector Detroit
- (4) LT Maria Stiefel, Sector Buffalo

C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:

- (1) GMC Anthony Cardullo, CGC STRATTON
- (2) YNC Brandi Klause, District Nine
- (3) AMTC Christopher Lovelady, Air Station Clearwater
- (4) CSCS John McCarthy, Sector Sault Sainte Marie
- (5) BMC Stephen Whalen, Station Tawas

D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:

- (1) MEC Bradley Clair, Sector Detroit
- (2) MSTC Anthony Steffes, Sector Buffalo

E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:

- (1) Mr. Scott Bobin, Sector Detroit
- (2) Mr. Jeff Carie, MSU Chicago
- (3) Mr. Mark Gill, Sector Sault Sainte Marie
- (4) Mr. Douglas McCann, District Nine

F. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:

(1) FC Gary Derby, Fifth District, Southern Region

G. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:

- (1) LCDR Elisa Dykman, Intel Coordination Center
- (2) CDR Chris German, CGC MELLON
- (3) LCDR Nicolas Jarboe, Sector Honolulu
- (4) CWO Marvin Lalone, Sector Detroit
- (5) LTJG Anna Ruth, CGC HAMILTON

H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

(1) SK1 Nicholas Saporito, Leadership Development Center

- (2) MST1 Heather Stemmerman, Sector Juneau
- (3) SK2 Britney Tribuzio, Air Station Elizabeth City
- 4. The selection panel members were:
 - A. CAPT Gregory Stump, COMDT (CG-13 Deputy)
 - B. CDR Eva VanCamp, COMDT (CG-DCO-X)
 - C. LT Patrick Forrest, COMDT (CGIS)
 - D. Mr. Jeff Wheeler, COMDT (CG-731)
 - E. SCPO William Bowen, CG AUX
 - F. HSC Macie Lowe, CG BASE NCR
 - G. HS2 Elizabeth Little, CG BASE NCR
- 5. The seven member panel consistently commented on the extraordinary quality of the nomination packages, which numbered 152 across all eight categories.
- 6. All nominees may not be aware of their nomination. The Panel strongly encourages Commands to publicly recognize their accomplishments and leadership examples and document in their performance evaluations.
- 7. Future nominators are reminded to adhere to standards for criteria, format, and endorsements. Additional details and information on the Inspirational Leadership Awards Program is available on the COMDT (CG-12C) website: https://www.uscg.mil/hr/cg12C/awards/awards.asp
- 8. POC: Ms. Brianne Alvis, COMDT (CG-12C), at 202-475-5514 or Brianne.E.Alvis@uscg.mil.
- 9. Mr. Curtis B. Odom, Director of Civilian Human Resources, Diversity and Leadership, sends.
- 10. Internet release authorized.