## ALAUX 008-18 2018 COMMODORE CHARLES S. GREANOFF INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNER

09 APR 2018

FM: CHDIRAUX

TO: ALAUX

ALAUX 008/18

## SUBJ: 2018 COMMODORE CHARLES S. GREANOFF INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNER

1. Please read ALCOAST 130/18 which recently announced the 2018 Coast Guard inspirational leadership award winners. Congratulations to Auxiliarist Linda Jones of the Seventh District for earning the Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award, and to Auxiliarist Craig Johnson of the Eleventh District-Northern Region and Auxiliarist Timothy Darrey of the Ninth District-Western Region for earning honorable mention!

R 091327 APR 18 FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC//CG-12// TO ALCOAST UNCLAS //N01650// ALCOAST 130/18 COMDTNOTE 1650 SUBJ: 2018 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS 1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners: A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty: LCDR William Jacobs. Air Station Clearwater B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve: LT Waymando Brown, PSU 308 C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty: SKC Brynn Simonetti, DCMS-8 D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve: BMC Gregory Rogers, Station Buffalo

E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:

Ms. Aidalis Mills, Ninth District

F. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD:

- FC Linda Jones, Seventh District
- G. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:

CDR Zeita Merchant, MSU Chicago

H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

CS1 Elizabeth Meister, Sector San Francisco

2. I applaud the efforts of these outstanding individuals and all award nominees. Through their collective actions and the actions of those who nominated them, they demonstrate proficiency in leadership and that our people are the foundation for successful Coast Guard service to the nation.

3. COMDT (CG-128) (formally CG-12C) will contact the winners and the their commands to ensure appropriate recognition for these prestigious awards.

A. The Witherspoon, McShan, Putnam, and Greanoff awards will be presented at the District level.

B. The Jarvis and Munro awards will be presented at the Navy League Convention.4. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category (in ordered preference):

A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:

(1) LCDR Adam McCarthy, Air Station Barbers Point

(2) LCDR Garett Meyer, Sector New York

- (3) CDR Leanne Lusk, Sector Lake Michigan
- B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:
  - (1) LT Joshua Fowler, Sector Buffalo
  - (2) CDR John Roos, Ninth District

C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:

- (1) CSC Martin Espinoza, Sector New York
- (2) SKC David Knapp, Air Station Miami
- (3) EMC Ryan Graham, USCGC VALIANT
- D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:
  - (1) BMC Glen Sefcik, PSU 308
  - (2) MEC Raymond Rushmore, Sector Lake Michigan
- E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:
  - (1) Mr. Timothy Wilcox, Sector Honolulu
  - (2) Mr. Danny Hale, Aviation Logistics Center
  - (3) Mr. Neil Bryson, Base Boston
- F. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:
  - (1) FC Craig Johnson, Eleventh District, Northern Region
  - (2) FC Timothy Darrey, Ninth District, Western Region
- G. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:
  - (1) LT Hunter Hill, MSST New Orleans

(2) CWO William Sanowski, USCGC POLAR STAR

(3) CDR Chris Davis, USCGC VALIANT

H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

(1) MST2 Chris Gibson, Sector Ohio Valley

(2) FN Trenton Thomas, Station Rochester

(3) MK1 Christopher Bybee, USCGC ESCANABA

5. The selection panel members were:

A. CAPT Darcie Cunningham, COMDT (CG-1 HCS)

B. CDR Scott Peterein, COMDT (CG-9336)

C. LT Jessica Snyder, COMDT (CG-PSC)

D. Ms. Jennifer Ey, COMDT (DCMS-5 Deputy)

E. DCOS William Bowen, DCOS

F. ITCM Michael Ingham, IT RFMC

G. SK1 William Lewis, COMDT (DCMS-833)

6. The seven member panel consistently commented on the extraordinary quality of the nomination packages, which numbered 127 across all eight categories.

7. All nominees may not be aware of their nomination. The Panel strongly encourages Commands to publicly recognize their accomplishments and leadership

examples and document in their performance evaluations.

8. Future nominators are reminded to adhere to standards for criteria, format, and endorsements. Additional details and information on the Inspirational Leadership Awards Program is available on the COMDT (CG-128) website:

https://www.dcms.uscg.mil/leadership/awards.

9. POC: Ms. Brianne Alvis, COMDT (CG-128), at 202-475-5514 or Brianne.E.Alvis@uscg.mil.

10. Ms. Michelle R. Godfrey, Director of Civilian Human Resources, Diversity and Leadership, sends.

11. Internet release authorized.