## ALAUX 06-14 – 2014 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

14MAY2014

1. Ms. Brenda Paul of District Eight (Coastal Region) Flotilla 7-10 has been recognized as this year's Coast Guard Auxiliary Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award winner. The following ALCOAST recently announced Ms. Paul's selection along with the other major Coast Guard leadership award selectees. Honorable mention was earned by Mr. Ronald Kaplan of District One (Southern Region) Flotilla 12-7, Mr. Nicholas Kuriger of District Five (Southern Region) Flotilla 31, and Mr. Lowell Gytri of District Eleven (Southern Region) Flotilla 11-12. Congratulations to all nominees and awardees!

2. FYI: R 081523Z MAY 14 ALCOAST 197/14 COMDTNOTE 1650 SUBJ: 2014 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners:<p< duty:

A.CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD: CWO4 Jason Briggs, CG TRACEN Petaluma

- B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve: LT Philip Stitzinger, CG MSU Cleveland
- C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty: MSTC Michael Goglia, CG SECTOR New York
- D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve: BMC Edward O. Hubbard, CGC EAGLE (WIX 327)
- E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD: Ms. Nancy Keck, CG SECTOR Sault Sainte Marie

F. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD: Ms. Brenda Paul, Flotilla 7-10, D8CR, Victoria, TX

G. CAPT DAVID J. JARVIS AWARD: LCDR Eric Jones, CG SECTOR Honolulu

H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD: AET1 Erin C. Simone, CG AIRSTA Kodiak</p<>

2. I applaud the efforts of these outstanding individuals and all award nominees. Through their collective actions and the actions of those who nominated them, they affirm that our people are the foundation for successful Coast Guard mission execution.

3. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category:

A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD:

- (1) LCDR Bradley A. Branaugh, CG SECTOR Southeastern New England
- (2) CWO3 Brian McCabe, CG SECTOR New York
- (3) CAPT Mark Reynolds, CG SECTOR North Bend

#### B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:

- (1) CWO4 Brian Hall, CG SECTOR Detroit
- (2) LCDR Teresa Peace, CG SECTOR Detroit
- (3) LT Ellinor Coder, CG SECTOR San Francisco

### C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD:

- (1) BMC Jill Browne, CGC WALNUT (WLB 205)
- (2) AETC Steve Garrett, CG AIRSTA Barbers Point
- (3) BMC Erin Stapleton, CG STATION Maui

#### D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:

- (1) MSTC Scott Binko, CG MSU Toledo
- (2) MSTC Andrew Lightbody, CG STATION Saint Claire Shores

#### E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:

- (1) Mr. Neil Bryson, CG ESD South Portland
- (2) Mr. Brian Fisher, CG SECTOR New York
- (3) Ms. Avis Linnins, CG TRACEN Petaluma

#### F. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:

- (1) Mr. Lowell Gytri, Flotilla 114-11-12, Big Bear Lake
- (2) Mr. Ronald Kaplan, Flotilla 014-12-07, Air Station Republic
- (3) Mr. Nicholas Kuriger, Flotilla 054-03-01, Richmond, Va

#### G. CAPT DAVID J. JARVIS AWARD:

- (1) CWO2 Jesse Walton, CG BASE Los Angeles Long Beach
- (2) LT Ryan Crose, CG SECTOR Southeastern New England
- (3) CWO3 Rachael Leask, CG SECTOR Long Island Sound

#### H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

- (1) MK1 Thaddeus Brandt, CGC CAMPBELL (WMEC 909)
- (2) AETCS TK Gustafson, CG AIRSTA Clearwater
- (3) MK1 John Vicich, CG SECTOR Southeastern New England

#### 4. The selection panel members were:

- A. CAPT Ronald LaBrec, CGRC
- B. CDR Rosemary Firestine, COMDT (CG-MSR-3)
- C. CWO3 Dennis J. Wilson, CG FORCECOM (FC-TOT)
- D. Ms. Crystal Sparks, COMDT (CG-095)
- E. Ms. Suzan Martin, COMDT (CG-2-E)
- F. SKCM Juan Vazquez, COMDT (CG-114)
- G. YNCM Rhonda Killmon, CGPSC (CGPSC-RPM-2)
- H. COMO Albert DeJean, CG Auxiliary

5. Additional details and information on the Inspirational Leadership Awards Program are available on the COMDT (CG-12C) website, www.uscg.mil/leadership.

# 6. POC: Ms. Veronique Freeman, COMDT (CG-12C), at 202-475-5514 or VERONIQUE.FREEMAN(AT)USCG.MIL.

7. Mr. Curtis B. Odom, Director of Civilian Human Resources, Diversity and Leadership, sends.

8. Internet Release Authorized.

3. The purpose of this list is to keep Auxiliarists as well as all other interested parties abreast of current developments, policies, manuals, etc. All information contained herein and linked is OFFICIAL policy and information.

4. Internet Release and Distribution is Authorized.

5. CG-BSX-1 sends