ALAUX 04-16 - COMO GREANOFF INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD

20 APR 2016

1. ALCOAST 147/16 recently announced the 2016 Coast Guard inspirational leadership award winners. Congratulations to Auxiliarist Jeffrey Pielet of D11-Southern Region for earning the Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award, and to Auxiliarist Jack Benton of D9-Eastern Region for earning honorable mention!

R 191100 APR 16 FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC//CG-12// TO ALCOAST UNCLAS //N01650// ALCOAST 147/16 COMDTNOTE 1650

SUBJ: 2016 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Coast Guard Inspirational

Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners:

A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:

LCDR Megan Drewniak, CG SECTOR Miami

B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:

LCDR Josephine Heron, CG SECTOR San Diego

C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:

ASTC Robert Florisi, CG SECTOR Corpus Christi

D. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:

EMC Timothy Soboleski, CG Station Belle Isle

E. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:

Mr. Kenneth Stuart, CG SECTOR Northern New England

F. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD:

FC Jeffrey Pielet, District 11, Southern Region

G. CAPT DAVID J. JARVIS AWARD:

LTJG Cathleen Giguere, CG SECTOR Charleston

H. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

FS1 Jessica Worden, CGC MIDGETT

- 2. I applaud the efforts of these outstanding individuals and all award nominees. Through their collective actions and the actions of those who nominated them, they demonstrate proficiency in leadership and that our people are the foundation for successful Coast Guard service to nation.
- 3. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category:
- A. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:
- (1) LT Alicia Flanagan, CG MSST Boston
- (2) LT Kristin Driscoll, CG SECTOR San Diego

- B. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:
- (1) LCDR Melissa Owens, CG SECTOR Buffalo
- (2) CAPT Frederick Wasco, CGD-9
- (3) LT Linda Pepe, CG SECTOR Detroit
- C. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD:
- (1) DCC Jonathan Lusk, AIRSTA San Francisco
- (2) YNC Rodney Pearson, TISCOM Honor Guard
- D. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:
- (1) Mr. David Mergenthaler, CG SECTOR Buffalo
- (2) Mr. Chad Davison, MSU Lake Charles
- (3) Mr. Scott Knutson, D13 (DRMM)
- E. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:
- (1) FC Jack Benton, District 9, Eastern Region
- F. CAPT DAVID J. JARVIS AWARD:
- (1) CWO Gregory Babst, MIPFTAG
- (2) CDR Marc Brandt, CGC STRATTON
- (3) CDR Eva Van Camp, CG SECTOR Hampton Roads
- (4) CDR Jennifer Sinclair, FORCECOM
- G. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:
- (1) DC1 Clifford Morgan, CG SECTOR Detroit
- (2) ME2 Isaac Adames, MSST Los Angeles/Long Beach
- (3) BMCM Charlie Salls, CG SECTOR Charleston
- 4. The selection panel members were:
- A. CAPT Robert A Bevins, APO Baltimore
- B. COMO Robert Sersen, CG-AUXILIARY
- C. CDR Zeita Merchant, COMDT (CG-09E)
- D. LT Mark M Sanchez, COMDT (CG-9336)
- E. Mr. Sam L Alvord, COMDT (CG-46)
- F. YNCM Robert A Miller, CG BASE NCR
- G. SK1 Austen M Shannon, CG BASE NCR
- 5. All nominees may not be aware of their nomination. The Panel strongly encourages Commands to publicly recognize their accomplishments and leadership examples and document in their performance evaluations.
- 6. Future nominators are reminded to adhere to standards for criteria, format, and endorsements. Additional details and information on the Inspirational Leadership Awards Program is available on the COMDT (CG-12C) website, www.uscg.mil/leadership.
- 7. POC: Ms. Brianne Alvis, COMDT (CG-12C), at 202-475-5514 or Brianne.E.Alvis@uscg.mil.
- 8. Mr. Curtis B. Odom, Director of Civilian Human Resources, Diversity and Leadership, sends
- 9. Internet Release Authorized.