

25 MAY 2023 FM: CHDIRAUX TO: ALAUX ALAUX 022/23

Subj: 2023 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

1. Please read ALCOAST 204/23, 2023 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS, for the announcement of the award recipients. Congratulations to District 8 Eastern Region Auxiliarist Buford Ridgeway for his selection as the Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Award winner. Bravo Zulu!

2. The ALCOAST is attached to this message for your convenience. In addition, the link to the MyCG news article is provided: <u>2023 Inspirational Award Winners > United States Coast Guard</u> > My Coast Guard News (uscg.mil)

3. Internet release is authorized.

For many reasons including the value of keeping communication lines clear and open as well as facilitating access to training and educational tools, all Auxiliarists are urged to have their own email address and to keep it updated in AUXDATA.

*All ALAUX's are posted on the Chief Director of Auxiliary web site located at: <u>CHDIRAUX</u> <u>ALAUX</u>

If you have a question regarding this ALAUX, please seek resolution within your Chain of Leadership and Management (COLM) including up to your servicing District Director of Auxiliary (DIRAUX). If your question still cannot be resolved after that, then please email <u>CGAUX@uscg.mil</u>.

R 251303Z MAY 23 MID120000132605U FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC TO ALCOAST BT UNCLAS ALCOAST 204/23 SSIC 1650 SUBJ: 2023 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS 1. This ALCOAST announces the winners of the 2023 Coast Guard and Navy League Inspirational Leadership Award (ILA) Winners. Bravo Zulu to the following winners: a. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS ILA: LCDR George MacDonnell, LDC b. SM1 DOUGLAS A. MUNRO ILA: AET1 Andrew Champagne, AIRSTA Cape Cod c. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON ILA-Active Duty: CDR Leah Cole, CGC Bertholf d. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON ILA-Reserve: LT Margaret Connolly, PSU 301 e. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN ILA-Active Duty: MEC Bradley Haines, SECTOR Mobile f. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN ILA-Reserve: BMCM Kristin MacLean, TRACEN Petaluma g. MR. GEORGE R. PUTNAM ILA: Mr. William D. Carter, SECTOR Maryland NCR h. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF ILA: FC Buford Ridgeway, FLOTILLA 082-24-04 2. I applaud the exceptional actions of these individuals and all award nominees. Through dedication to duty and leading by example, these individuals inspire others while advancing the Coast Guard's outstanding service to the nation. 3. The Witherspoon, McShan, Putnam, and Greanoff awards will be presented at the District level. 4. The Jarvis and Munro awards will be presented at the Annual Navy League Convention June 07-11, 2023 in Dallas, TX. Travel should be funded by unit or district. 5. The selection panel members were: a. CDR Thomas Crowley, CG FSMS Incident Command b. Mr. Mark Bruno, COMDT (CG-1132) c. LT Anna Michael, CG ICC d. MKCS Michael Ball, CG LDC e. BM1 Tyler Mleczko, COMDT (CG-1D2) 6. The five-member panel thoroughly deliberated 86 nomination packages across all eight categories. 7. COMDT (CG-1D2) recommends that members who were nominated but not selected for these prestigious awards receive due recognition from their commands. At a minimum, documentation of award nomination should be reflected in nominees' performance evaluations or personnel files.

8. For future award submissions, Commands are reminded to adhere to the award nomination criteria, format, and endorsement standards outlined in the award solicitation. Information and eligibility requirements for the Inspirational Leadership Awards are available on the COMDT (CG-128) website: (Copy and Paste URL Below into Browser)

https://www.dcms.uscg.mil/leadership/awards

9. POC: CWO Nicole McKenzie, COMDT (CG-1D2), at Nicole.E.McKenzie@uscg.mil.
10. Dr. D. M. Navarro, Acting Assistant Commandant for Human Resources (CG-1)/Senior Advisor for Diversity and Inclusion (SADI), sends.
11. Internet release is authorized.