

10 JUL 2020

FM: CHDIRAUX TO: ALAUX ALAUX 021/20

Subj: 2020 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

Auxiliarist Jim Bell of Flotilla 35-9, D9 - Western Region has been recognized as the 2020 Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award winner. The following ALCOAST recently announced Auxiliarist Bell's selection. Honorable mention was earned by Auxiliarist JeanneMarie McNamara of Flotilla 74, D8 - Coastal Region. Congratulations to Auxiliarist Bell and all nominees!!

Respectfully, Captain Scott L. Johnson Chief Director of Auxiliary (CG-BSX)

R 061228 JUL 20 FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC//CCG// TO ALCOAST UNCLAS //N01650// ALCOAST 262/20 COMDTNOTE 1650

SUBJ: 2020 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

- 1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners:
 - a. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:
 - LT Dana Dougherty, CG Academy
 - b. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve: LCDR James Thach, PSU 301
 - c. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:
 - BMC Christopher Connolly, CGC Bollard
 - d. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:
 - ETC Derek Chase, PSU 301
 - e. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:
 - Ms. Kathleen Daddona, Base Cape Cod
 - f. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD:
 - FC Jim Bell, Unit 095-35-09
 - g. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:
 - LCDR Megan Drewniak, Sector Detroit
 - h. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

ME3 Erin Kinne, LEDET 104

- 2. I applaud the exceptional actions of these individuals and all award nominees. Through dedication to duty and leading by example, these individuals inspire others while advancing the Coast Guard's outstanding service to the nation.
- 3. CCG and MCPOCG have contacted award recipients and their commands directly to ensure the appropriate level of recognition for these prestigious awards.
- 4. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category:
 - a. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:

CAPT Jim Estramonte, CGC Munro

b. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:

LT Jessica Snyder, PSU 305

c. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:

EMC Douglas Olsen, CGC Tahoma

d. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:

MSTC Carrie Gagnon, Sector Puget Sound

e. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:

Ms. Joanne Turner, COMDT (CG-124)

f. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:

FC JeanneMarie McNamara, Unit 081-07-04

g. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:

LCDR Jesse Webster, PSU 301

h. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:

MST1 Gaylord Basa, Sector LA/LB

- 5. The selection panel members were:
 - a. CAPT Christopher Keane, COMDT (CG-741)
 - b. LCDR William Hayward, COMDT (CG-7114)
 - c. LT Theresa Brooks, COMDT (CG-R81)
 - d. Mr. Benjamin Hawkins, COMDT (CG-5PS-D)
 - e. YNC Elias Schawohl, COMDT (CG-PSC-EPM-3)
 - f. YN1 Lawren Kanae, COMDT (CG-PSC-EPM-1)
 - g. COMO Thomas Dever, D5-NR
- 6. The seven-member panel thoroughly deliberated 103 nomination packages across all eight categories.
- 7. The Panel recommends that members who are nominated, but not selected, for these prestigious awards (as such, these members will not be listed as winner or honorable mention in this ALCOAST) receive due recognition from their commands. At a minimum, documentation of award nomination should be reflected in nominees' performance evaluations or personnel files.
- 8. For future award submissions, Commands are reminded to adhere to the award nomination criteria, format, and endorsement standards outlined in the award solicitation. Information and eligibility requirements for the Inspirational Leadership Awards are available on the COMDT (CG-128) website: https://www.dcms.uscg.mil/leadership/awards.
- 9. POC: Ms. Michelle Smith, COMDT (CG-128), at 202-475-5089 or Michelle.T.Smith@uscg.mil.
- 10. ADM K. L. Schultz, Commandant, sends.
- 11. Internet release is authorized.

For many reasons including the value of keeping communication lines clear and open as well as facilitating access to training and educational tools, all Auxiliarists are urged to have their own email address and to keep it updated in AUXDATA.

*All ALAUX's are posted on the Chief Director of Auxiliary web site located at: <a href="https://example.com/chief-director-of-Auxiliary-web-site-located-at:-2012/chief-director-of-Auxiliary-web-site-located-at

If you have a question regarding this ALAUX, please seek resolution within your Chain of Leadership and Management (COLM) including up to your servicing District Director of Auxiliary (DIRAUX). If your question still cannot be resolved after that, then please email CGAUX@uscg.mil.