

03 JUN 2022 FM: CHDIRAUX TO: ALAUX

ALAUX 019/22

Subj: 2022 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

Please read the following ALCOAST announcement of the 2022 Inspirational Leadership Award recipients. Congratulations to District 7 Auxiliarist Ralph Hendricks for his selection as the Commodore Charles S. Greanoff Award winner. Honorable mention also goes out to District 5 - Southern Region Auxiliarist Bonifacio "Joey" Taguding. Bravo Zulu!

Respectfully, Captain Troy P. Glendye Chief Director of Auxiliary (CG-BSX)

R 231529Z MAY 22 FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC TO ALCOAST BT UNCLAS ALCOAST 198/22 SSIC 1650

SUBJ: 2022 INSPIRATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

- 1. I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards. Bravo Zulu to the following winners:
  - a. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty: LCDR Roberto Concepcion, COMDT (CG-721)
  - b. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve: LT Sara Cole, CG PSU 305
  - c. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:
    MSTC Michael Rushane, CG SECTOR LONG ISLAND SOUND
  - d. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve: MEC Rafael Ortiz, CGRU SOUTHCOM
  - e. MR. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD: Mr. Charlie Coiro, CG LDC

- f. COMO CHARLES S. GREANOFF AWARD:
  - FC Ralph Hendricks, FLOTILLA 070-17-06
- g. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:
  - CDR Thomas Przybla, CGC POLAR STAR
- h. SM1 DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:
  - MK3 Bryan Beck, CGC DAUNTLESS
- 2. I applaud the exceptional actions of these individuals and all award nominees. Through dedication to duty and leading by example, these individuals inspire others while advancing the Coast Guard's outstanding service to the nation.
- 3. CCG and MCPOCG have contacted award recipients and their commands directly to ensure the appropriate level of recognition for these prestigious awards.
- a. The Witherspoon, McShan, Putnam, and Greanoff awards will be presented at the District level.
- b. The Jarvis and Munro awards will be presented at the Annual Navy League Convention June 8-12, 2022 in Orlando, FL. Travel should be funded by unit or district.
- 4. Honorable mention goes to the following nominees by category:
  - a. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Active Duty:
    - LT Magen Bloch, CG SECTOR JUNEAU
  - b. CAPT JOHN G. WITHERSPOON AWARD-Reserve:
    - LCDR Dennis Bradford, CGRU SOUTHCOM
  - c. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Active Duty:
    - BMC Richard Hofschneider, CG SECTOR GUAM
  - d. MCPO ANGELA M. MCSHAN AWARD-Reserve:
    - MKC Matthew Stansberry, CG PSU 305
  - e. GEORGE R. PUTNAM AWARD:
    - Mr. Christopher O'Neal, CG SECTOR VIRGINIA
  - f. COMO CHARLES GREANOFF AWARD:
    - FC Bonifacio Taguding, FLOTILLA 054-26-06
  - g. CAPT DAVID H. JARVIS AWARD:
    - LTJG Jacklyn Kokomoor, USCGC CHARLES MOULTHROPE
  - h. DOUGLAS A. MUNRO AWARD:
    - MST1 Duskin Deichl, CG SECTOR LA/LB
- 5. The selection panel members were:
  - a. CAPT Thomas Cooper, AIRSTA San Francisco
  - b. CDR John McWhite, CGC DECISIVE
  - c. LCDR Celina Ladyga, MSST SEATTLE
  - d. LT Danelle Hauther, PACAREA
  - e. Mr. Peter Zohorsky, CG SECTOR VIRGINIA
  - f. CMC Jesse Duff, CG SECTOR LONG ISLAND SOUND
  - g. YN2 Jacquelyn Smith, CG PSC (EPM-3)
  - h. COMO Gary Barth, DNACO-Atlantic East/RBS
- 6. The eight-member panel thoroughly deliberated 90 nomination packages across all eight categories.
- 7. COMDT (CG-128) recommends that members who were nominated but not selected for these prestigious awards receive due recognition from their commands. At a minimum, documentation

of award nomination should be reflected in nominees' performance evaluations or personnel files.

8. For future award submissions, Commands are reminded to adhere to the award nomination criteria, format, and endorsement standards outlined in the award solicitation. Information and eligibility requirements for the Inspirational Leadership Awards are available on the COMDT (CG-128) website:

(Copy and Paste URL Below into Browser)

https://www.dcms.uscg.mil/leadership/awards

9. POC: CWO Nicole McKenzie, COMDT (CG-128), at 202-475-5518 or Nicole.E.McKenzie@uscg.mil.

10. ADM Karl L. Schultz, Commandant (CCG), sends.

11. Internet release is authorized.

\*\*\*For many reasons including the value of keeping communication lines clear and open as well as facilitating access to training and educational tools, all Auxiliarists are urged to have their own email address and to keep it updated in AUXDATA.\*\*\*

\*All ALAUX's are posted on the Chief Director of Auxiliary web site located at: <a href="https://example.com/chief-director-of-Auxiliary-web-site-located-at: CHDIRAUX ALAUX">CHDIRAUX</a>

If you have a question regarding this ALAUX, please seek resolution within your Chain of Leadership and Management (COLM) including up to your servicing District Director of Auxiliary (DIRAUX). If your question still cannot be resolved after that, then please email CGAUX@uscg.mil.